How Long Does A Divorce in Houston Take?

How Long Does A Divorce in Houston Take

If you are looking to dissolve a marriage in Texas, you may feel overwhelmed and unsure of where to start. Divorces are one of the most stressful and emotionally draining experiences a family can go through. The attorneys at The Renken Law firm are here to help make your divorce process go smoothly and as quickly as possible. We understand every couple’s situation will come with its own unique set of circumstances and lifestyle needs. Our goal is to help our clients reach solutions in their divorce agreement that work for their lifestyle’s long term. If you are considering divorce, contact us today. Our legal team will work with you to help you make the first steps in putting your divorce in motion, to help make the process go quickly.

 

If you are looking to file for a divorce in the state of Texas, there are a few requirements you will be required to meet in order for Texas courts to recognize your divorce. First of all, if you are looking to file for a divorce in Texas, you must have lived in the state of Texas, as a resident for 6 months. Additionally, you must have lived in the county you file for divorce in for a minimum of 90 days immediately prior to petitioning your divorce. If you are a Texas resident in the military, Texas courts will still recognize you as a resident and grant you a divorce. Unlike many other states, Texas does not recognize legal separations.

 

What Is A No Fault State?

A “no fault divorce state,” means that in that state there is no requirement for one spouse to prove the other spouse has done something wrong in order to be granted a legal divorce. This protects Texas residents seeking a divorce because it means the other party cannot stop the divorce by choosing not to sign divore papers or refusing to participate in the divorce process. Texas courts will enter and recognize divorce orders even in the event the other party is not present or has not granted permission.

 

How Long Does A Divorce Take In Texas?

In Texas, there is a minimum 60 day waiting period after filing for a divorce before one can be finalized. The 60 day period begins from the day the original petition for divorce is filed with the court. So, in a perfect world, a divorce can be completed in 61 days in the state of Texas. However, divorces can be complicated and have the potential to last longer. In fact, the average divorce period lasts between 90 to 120 days after the original petition for divorce is filed.

 

Houston Texas Divorce Professionals

Renken Law Firm is here to help couples who wish to dissolve their marriage, whether that be through divorce or legal separation. We are here to help those who are ending marriages that have been contested, uncontested, or collaborative. We are fully prepared to help you navigate the specifics of your case. All marriages are different, making each divorce equally unique with its own set of needs that must be addressed. Contact our law office to explore your options moving forward, and find out how we can help you.

 

Renken Law Firm, PLLC
11500 Northwest Fwy #618
Houston, TX 77092
(713) 956-6767
https://therenkenlawfirm.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *